Under a district-based election system, the City would be divided into four equally-populated districts. A candidate for a seat on the City Council must reside within that seat’s district, and is elected only by voters residing within that same district. Under this system, the four City Council Members each represent one district, while the Mayor continues to represent the City as a whole, and be elected citywide.